English Diagnostic Tests

English Diagnostic Tests

pmg Logo
PFS Team May 23, 2024


Are you are looking to take your English functional skills qualification? Taking a diagnostic test is the best place to start. Here at Pass My GCSE, we recommend the English diagnostic tests from Pass Fuctional Skills. In this article, we will take a look at their English initial assessments, these are designed to guide your course and enrolment and areas to focus on. All diagnostic assessments from Pass Functional Skills are completely free!

If you want to find out more about the diagnostic tests and courses Pass Functional Skills offfer, then fill out the form below.


English Diagnostic Tests

Pass Functional Skills offer two types of diagnostic test: the initial assessment and the subject knowledge assessment. We will take a look at each of these in more detail below:

Initial Assessment

The initial assessment seeks to evaluate the level at which a learner is starting the course at. This is done by learners working through a series of questions covering the entire curriculum, with questions of varying difficulty. Thus by looking at the number of correct answers and how difficult the question is, a learner’s intitial level is calculated. This provides learners with insight into the right level of study, whether it be level 1 or level 2.

Subject Knowledge Assessment

In addition to the initial assessment, Pass Functional Skills offers a subject knowledge assessment. This diagnostic test aims to test learners’ understanding across the whole course. Once completed, learners are given a list of recommended topics. These are areas within the course that the learner should focus their revision on. Completing their list of recommended topics will help a learner pass their exam.

Current Level

When working through the course, learners’ current level will alter according to how well they are doing. It is calculated using scores achieved in practice questions and topic tests. In essence, current level offers immediate feedback on your progress. Once your current level surpasses 2.5, you’re typically ready to take your level 2 exam.

ESFA Funding

It is an ESFA requirement to carry out an assessment of current level for those apprentices who do not have evidence of prior attainment of level 2 maths and English qualifications. These assessments must be carried out using tools based on the national literacy and numeracy standards and core curriculum, as stated by the ESFA funding rules. The Pass Functional Skills diagnostics tests help training providers to meet these requirements without incurring any cost.


While the initial assessment guides learners towards the appropriate course level, it’s important to note that this is not final. For instance, you may be advised to enrol on the level 1 course but need the level 2 qualification. In this case,  extra effort and tim spent on the course will prepare you for the level 2 exam. Finishing the entire course gives learners the necessary skills to be able to pass their exam.

Finally, alongside the English diagnostic tests, you will also find the same for maths. You can learn more about both the maths and English initial tests by clicking the link below.

Diagnostic Assessments

pmg Logo
Written by

Pass My GCSE Team

We help thousands of students each year with revision, courses and online exams.